About US

Council of Online Learning Practitioners (COLP)



In efforts to become fully compliant to the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) best practices for distance learning, and to provide appropriate institution-wide oversight of existing and proposed online degree and certificate programs, the Southern University System (SUS) established a Council of Online Learning Practitioners (SUS-COLP) in 2017.  The Interim Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost, Dr. Luria Young, was very interested in leveraging the SUS-COLP to transform online learning within the SUS and to encourage a culture of quality assurance.  Our goal is to empower the respective college leadership to transform the University.  Professor Moustapha Diack, Chair of the SUBR Doctoral Program in Science/Math Education (SMED) and coordinator of the Southern University Open Library for Education (SUOL4ed) was tasked with furthering the idea and its implementation.  An aggressive awareness campaign was launched during the Fall 2007 Convocation, followed by meetings with the constituent colleges, to raise awareness and to share ideas regarding the implementation of SUS-COLP.

The original members of the SUS-COLP were nominated by departmental units of the College of Sciences and Engineering (CS&E – Dean Patrick Carriere), College of Humanities and Interdisciplinary Studies (CoHIS – Dean Cynthia Bryant), Nelson Mandela College of Government and Social Sciences (Mandela CoGSS – Dean Damien Ejigiri), College of Business (CoB – Dean Donald Andrews), College of Nursing and Allied Health (N&AH – Dean Janet Rami), Honors College (HC – Dean Diola Bagayoko), the Graduate School (GS – Dean Habib Mohamadian), and the John B. Cade Library (Dean Emma Perry).  The Southern University Division of Information Technology (DoIT) played an integral role in the planning of the SUS-COLP (Associate VP and CIO – Dr. Gabriel Fagbeyiro).

While the respective college Deans’ serve as ex-officio members of the SUS-COLP, departmental units and programs within the colleges are all represented in the SUS-COLP, and they will be instrumental in establishing appropriate campus and System-wide policies.

COLP Membership:

Moustapha Diack, COLP Chair, SMED Program, CS&E
Chrisena Williams, Division of IT – SUBR
Rachel Carriere, Division of IT – SUBR
Goldie Jordan, Division of IT – SUBR
Dawn Kight, J.B. Cade Library
Veronica McEachin, Director E-Learning, Southern University at Shreveport
Shelia Wood, Director E-Learning, Southern University at New Orleans

SUBR Colleges Representation

Click titles to see Listing
1. College of Sciences and Engineering COLP
2. College of Humanities and Interdisciplinary Studies
3. Nelson Mandela College of Governance and Social Studies
4. College of Business COLP
5. College of Nursing & Allied Health
6. Honor College
7. Graduate School

Southern University has been approved by Louisiana to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements. NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education.